It’s easy to fake geotagging photos on your iPhone to keep real locations secret «iOS and iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

Without realizing it, you may give away the GPS coordinates of your home, workplace, school, and other important or confidential locations. Unless you block the feature on your iPhone, location data is stored in nearly every photo and video you take, and anyone you share content with can know where you are or where you are. But there are some things you can do to protect the information.

When I opened a file camera For the first time, it asked if it was OK to use your location when using the app, and you likely agreed to the request. And that’s totally fine. Tag your photos and videos with location data helps you organize and keep track of the important moments in your life, and it helps to Pictures The app creates memory videos for you, to name a few.

However, you may not remember that each photo’s metadata stores the exact or approximate location it was taken, or that anyone you share the photo with can easily search for this information. You can even share GPS coordinates with hackers And the whole world if you upload content to services like the medalAnd the flickrAnd the Google PhotosAnd the Unsplash.

Without disabling location services for the camera apps, your iPhone doesn’t just use GPS networks to find your coordinates — it also uses Bluetooth connections, local Wi-Fi networks, and your cellular network. So even if you don’t have cellular or Wi-Fi coverage, location data can still be invisibly stamped on your photos.

Go to the section:

  1. Disable geolocation completely
  2. Delete geotags when sharing
  3. Remove geotags before posting
  4. Fake geotags before posting

Option 1: Disable geolocation completely

If you don’t want your iPhone to tag photos and videos with geoinformation, you can disable location services for the camera and any other camera apps you use. To do this, go to Settings -> Privacy (iOS 15) or Privacy & Security (iOS 16) -> Location Services, then choose Camera or another app from the list.

From the application settings, you can:

  • Disable “precise location” to circulate registered location data.
  • Change “While using the app” to “Never” to disable the period of access to the location.
  • Change “While using the app” to “Ask next time or when I participate”. When you open a new session in the Camera app, it will ask you to access the location. You can turn off Precise Location and choose ‘Don’t allow’ (to never allow them access to your location) or ‘Allow once’ (to have them ask the same question with each new session).

Option 2: Delete geotags when sharing

Since iOS 13, you can quickly remove the location from any photo or video you share from the Photos app. Once the share sheet is open, click Options at the top, and turn off the Location switch before sharing content with any person or service. This also works when you share multiple photos or videos using built-in geotags. If you don’t see the “Location” toggle button, the content doesn’t have any location data in its Exif metadata.

Option 3: Delete geotags before sharing

Since iOS 15You can delete geotags in your photos and videos from the Photos app, which comes in handy if you don’t plan on sharing content yet but you know you probably will.

To delete a single photo or video:

  • Open the content, then scroll it up or tap the info button (i) to reveal the content’s metadata. Tap Set at the bottom of the map, then tap No Location.
  • Open Content, tap the ellipsis icon (•••), choose Set Location from the Quick Actions menu, then tap No Location. (This works on iOS 16 and later only.)
  • Open the content on iOS 15, tap on the share icon, choose “Adjust Location” from the share sheet, then tap on “No Location”. (This works on iOS 15 only.)

To delete one or more photos or videos:

  • Tap Select from the grid view, choose Content, tap the ellipsis icon (•••), choose Set Location from the Quick Actions menu, and tap No Location. (This works on iOS 16 and later only.)
  • Press Select from the grid view, choose the content, click the share icon, choose Set Location from the share sheet, then press No Location. (This works on iOS 15 only.)

To return to the original location:

If you are Need the physical location againUse the same process above for individual photos and videos.

  • Open the content, then scroll it up or tap the info button (i) to reveal the content’s metadata. Tap Add Location at the bottom of the map, then tap Return.
  • Open the content, tap the ellipsis icon (•••), choose “Set Location” from the Quick Actions menu, and press Back. (This works on iOS 16 and later only.)
  • Open the content on iOS 15, tap on the share icon, choose “Adjust Location” from the share sheet, then tap on “Revert”. (This works on iOS 15 only.)

You cannot return many photos or videos to the original location at once, so you will have to do them individually if you have more than one that needs to be changed again.

Option 4: Fake geotagging before sharing

While completely removing location data when sharing photos and videos is quick and easy, you can also make it look like you’re somewhere else. This way, if anyone searches for the content metadata, they will see a fake site instead of the real one. It may take a wild goose chase if they try to determine where you are, favorite hangouts, or sites you visit often.

It’s pretty much the same process for changing the title of a photo or video in the Photos app as with deleting it, as shown in Option 3 above, you just choose a specific location instead of No Location.

To geotag a single photo or video:

  • Open the content, then scroll it up or tap the info button (i) to reveal the content’s metadata. Click “Set” at the bottom of the map, then find and select any location you want.
  • Open the content, click the ellipsis icon (•••), choose “Set location” from the list of quick actions, then find and select any location you want. (This works on iOS 16 and later only.)
  • Open the content on iOS 15, tap on the share icon, choose “Set Location” from the share sheet, then find and select any location you want. (This works on iOS 15 only.)

To geotag one or more photos or videos:

  • Press Select from the grid view, choose the content, tap the ellipsis icon (•••), choose Set Location from the quick action menu, then find and select any location you want. (This works on iOS 16 and later only.)
  • Press “Select” from grid view, choose the content, click on the share icon, choose “Set location” from the share sheet, then find and select any site you want. (This works on iOS 15 only.)

To return to the original location:

If you are Need the physical location againUse the same process above for individual photos and videos.

  • Open the content, then scroll it up or tap the info button (i) to reveal the content’s metadata. Tap Set at the bottom of the map, then tap Back.
  • Open the content, tap the ellipsis icon (•••), choose “Set Location” from the Quick Actions menu, and press Back. (This works on iOS 16 and later only.)
  • Open the content on iOS 15, tap on the share icon, choose “Adjust Location” from the share sheet, then tap on “Revert”. (This works on iOS 15 only.)

You cannot return many photos or videos to the original location at once, so you will have to do them individually if you have more than one that needs to be changed again.

Keep your connection secure without a monthly bill. Get Lifetime subscription To VPN Unlimited for all your devices with a one-time purchase of the new device Shopping Hacks ToolWatch Hulu or Netflix without regional restrictions, increase security when browsing on public networks, and more.

BUY NOW (80% OFF)>

Other worthwhile deals to check out:

Cover image and screenshots by Justin Meyers / Gadget Hacks

Leave a Comment